T-Maxx 3.3 Spur Gear (Stripping Problem)

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newfienew

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I have recently picked up a TMaxx 3.3. It ran great gor about 10 - 12 tanks of fuel. I too it out to an old baseball diamond and leaving the infield to the outfield it took a spill and stripped the supr gear. I replaed it and it slipped a little as I'm new to the t-maxx and had to tighten the lock not a little. I then stripped the spur gear. So I replaced it again and this time made sure not to tighten it too much. the little pads would slip a little if I pushed them in the opposite direction of the spur gear. Again it stripped. Would it be best if I used the steel spur gear or am I missing something.

Any and all instructions and advice on properly replacing a spur gear would be appreciated.

Thanks for reading
Chris

well.....

make sure to get a strip of copy paper and put it in between to measure mesh. to do this get a strip of regular copy paper put it in between the spur and the bell clutch if it slides through its to loose if it rips to tight so get it to where u can pull it through only leaving tooth marks! if uv done that change over to a metal one if stripped alot of plastic spurs goin in big deep grass!

Thanks for the response

I'll check that with a new spur gear. I may have had it too tight. The first time I did take a spill and it stripped when I hit the motor. I hand no idea how to set it up the new one. How tight should I have the lock nut holding the slipper clutch?

Thanks
Chris

Check the motor mount....