How heavy’s your rig bro??

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mtbmatty

RCTalk Talkaholic
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Crawling
  3. Flying
What’s your opinion on adding weight to your crawler?? Ultra light, heavy weight, or somewhere in between??
On our TRX4 build I was going for as much as was needed, without going crazy dropping da cash on da Brass.
Watched a YouTube Video last night and the guy was suggesting less is more, and he makes sense

I think it's more about getting the weight where it needs to be, rather than just adding weight everywhere. I am no pro at crawling by any means, but if you ever rode BMX bikes, lighter was always best. Going up and downhill required you to shift your weight from front to back. While a crawler can't really do that, you can shift the weight to where it is most useful, which is down low. So as light as possible, while still getting traction, with as low a cog as possible would be my take on it.

It was sitting about 11.6 lbs. After I swapped to the Fusion Pro I started playing with weight again and got back down to about 10.5 lbs.

I haven't been out much due to health and the weather but I think it's pretty close where it is and I just need to play with a few ounces here and there to get it balanced again.