Recomended esc upgrades for the Traxxas Maxx V2

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tjdp01

RC Newbie
Reaction score
My Maxx has now burned out two ESC's and I'm not excited to get another stock one. Something about the way I run it seems to be too hard on it so I'm not expecting to change my driving style. I'm new to these components. I have a spare motor that came with my second ESC (from eBay). That all worked fine for months. So i have two traxxas motors and would prefer not to have to get another motor but I can if its makes the system more reliable. I read in another thread to look into the "castle mamba X" or something from Hobbywing. Do I need to do anything to adapt that those to the car? do those work with the stock Traxxas motor? Are they any better? Somebody else recommended upgrading to a Traxxas 6S ESC but I have no idea if thats a good idea or even possible. They were not familiar with the part, they just figured "go bigger". I don't mind spending a little more for reliability. Can I just get the "castle mamba X" or some Hobbywing esc and swap it in? Thanks!