Traxxas T Maxx 2.5 Idle Issue

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mg444

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hello -

First off, I'm very new to nitro and the Traxxas T Maxx 2.5 is my first nitro truck. I have many electric RC's. Anyways, I have a brand new T Maxx 2.5 and I have the engine broke in. The problem is the idle speed, it's super super high and I can't adjust it down. I've been doing research on this forum and I know of at least one post about this but I don't know what the definitive solution was. With the engine off the ground, it will idle so high that it will almost hit 2nd gear. I *believe* I have a throttle linkage issue. I've adjusted the idle screw, doesn't help. Tried adjusting the low speed needle, no luck. I have the high speed needle set good, just a little rich but not to much. I don't know how to adjust the linkage though. If someone could help I would appreciate it. Links, pictures, explanations would all be helpful. Thank you.

Hello -