54 in. Dumas Scarab

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ddawson

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I'm new to the rc boats and recently acquired a 54 in. hull and what appears to be most of the parts to build for free from a friend of mine. I'm trying to figure out if this is doable. My local shop didnt seem to know much about the boats. I'm really just trying to find the right path on how to build this without an instruction manual or previous knowledge. Here is what i have:

-what i believe to be a 54 in. Dumas Scarab hull without the hatch or rails.
-older Futaba radio and servos
-Homelite 25cc engine (appears new)
-Octura strudder with prop
-2 flex drives with brass tube
-small allthread with plastic sleeves, assorted hardware

20210113_175345.jpg
20210112_133829.jpg
20210113_180143.jpg
20210113_180155.jpg
20210113_175406.jpg

Not sure were you live or what body of water you plan on running .but Id check with local laws ..to be safe.
I can not run a 2 stroke toy boat on any water within 100 miles of my home.. Not sure id kept that old fm radio I think id uprgade to a new 2.4 ghz (major better system than the old stuff)1 ... not sure I seen a battery in those pics. you will need 1 to power electronics on that boat and a charger to charge whatever type of battery you get.... Great freebie wow... you can check servos to see how many volts the can take. start by seeing if all things work b4 building.. test servos. motor .flex tube. water for cooling .either off rudder or transom..looks like you will need some type of a exhaust pipe .

Not sure were you live or what body of water you plan on running .but Id check with local laws ..to be safe.