Looking at getting into 1/8 truggy.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Patsfan40

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
I'm still relatively new to the hobby but am mechanically inclined. I currently have a ecx ruckus with all metal gears and a castle 3500kv motor. Looking for something more durable and that is faster. I was looking at the arrma kraton but the wife said it's to expensive so what are my other alternatives I want a 1/8 truggy. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I actually just bought a 1/8 truggy slider I need help Identifying it

Screenshot_20181002-231638_eBay.jpg

Screenshot_20181002-231648_eBay.jpg

Screenshot_20181002-231629_eBay.jpg

Screenshot_20181002-224356_Samsung Internet.jpg

@Patsfan40 what is your budget for your buggy?
I actually just bought that slider I'm looking at putting it together once I know what it is. What is a cheaper but good option to the castle creations mamba x?

You are going to have a lot of work with that truck. It is missing 3 drive shafts, with another possibly broken. Center diff need a top plate. Front shocks missing. Front body mount broken. I don't know what it is, but it has a AE look to it to me. for sure, it started life as a nitro model, then converted to brushless. You may google pics of the AE RC8T and see if it matches.

As for budget power, one cheap option would be to pick up a Arrma BLX185 ESC and motor for about $120 off the ebay kit breakers. To get cheaper than that, you would need to look at the GoolRC/Surpass/Racerstar combos, but those ESCs often don't work out of the box. But if you get a good one, they are decent, so long as you don't get them wet.